Board of Directors


Kellen Boice, Executive Director

Angelica Mercado-Ford, Operations Manager

Jennifer Erickson, Bookkeeping Services

2020 Board of Directors

Mike Jamison, President

Wes Eisenhauer, Vice President

Marcy Dimond, Treasurer

Kira Christensen Dylla, Secretary

Alex Hagen, Past President

Jeff Holcomb, Board Member

Boyd Perkins, Board Member

Chase Kramer, Board Member

Ann Nachitgal, Board Member

Sandra Pay, Emeritus Board Member

Molly McCarthy, Emeritus Board Member


Board Biographies

Michael Jamison was born and raised in Sioux Falls. His family includes Roxann his wife of 32 years two grown children Brent and Sara, and a grandson Henry who has redefined him as a “Grandpa.” Mike graduated from Lake Area Tech in 1980 and began his first career with The Spitznagel Partners (TSP) in 1981. While working at TSP he attended Augustana College, Sioux Falls College and South Dakota State University in preparation for passing the required testing to become a Registered Professional Electrical Engineer. Mike retired from TSP in 2018 and began his second career in January of 2019 with Puetz Corp a Design-Build, Construction Management firm with office in Mitchell, Pierre and Sioux Falls. Over the years Mike has been actively engaged with a number of community non-profit organizations including: Make-A-Wish, Junior Achievement, Washington Pavilion of Arts and Science, South Dakota Achieve (LifeScape), Lutheran Social Services, Sioux Falls Arts Council, City of Sioux Falls Visual Arts Commission, Chamber of Commerce Community Appeals Committee and Dow Rummel Village.

Kira Dylla Christensen is the Learning & Development Manager at Farmers Business Network. She graduated from Augustana University with a B.A. in Mathematics and Secondary Education. During her time as a math teacher, she was the South Dakota recipient of a national teaching award and received her M.A. in Educational Technology from the University of Michigan. In college, Kira sang with the Augustana Choir and Chamber Choir for four years, and as a teacher, she advised student groups associated with the arts. Kira is an active member and past President of Sioux Falls Rotary – South, and she and her husband enjoy volunteering with the club.

Boyd Perkins Dr. Boyd Perkins serves as Coordinator of Fine Arts in the Sioux Falls School District in South Dakota, where he oversees all aspects of the visual art, music, theater, speech, and debate education programs. Prior to his position in the Sioux Falls School District, Perkins served as Director of Bands and chair of the Department of Music and Theater at Northern State University in Aberdeen, South Dakota. In addition to his collegiate work he has served as a K-12 school music educator at the secondary and elementary levels in South Dakota, Minnesota, and Iowa.  Perkins earned his Doctor of Musical Arts and Master of Arts degrees  from The University of Iowa as well as his Bachelor of Science in Music Education with both an instrumental and vocal emphasis from South Dakota State University. He holds his national certification in online distance education design and delivery through the Online Learning Consortium.

Alex Hagen is an attorney at Cadwell Sanford Deibert & Garry LLP. He graduated from the University of Chicago with a B.A. in English Literature. While teaching high school, he obtained an M.Ed from Montana State University and then attended law school at the University of South Dakota. Alex’s interest in the arts is wide-ranging. He has edited and contributed to poetry anthologies published by Scurfpea Press and has been published in web zines such as the Awl and the Classical. He is a South Dakota native and currently lives in Sioux Falls with his family.

Sandra Pay has a long track record of nonprofit arts leadership. Before moving to Sioux Falls in 2000, she lived in San Diego, CA where she was President of the San Diego Opera board of directors, served on the fundraising committee to redesign the First Ladies’ exhibit at the Smithsonian, Chairman of the San Diego Arts Commission, President of the board of directors of the San Diego symphony, board member of San Diego Downtown Rotary and board member of the San Diego Chamber of Commerce. Since her move to Sioux Falls, Sandra has been a member of the South Dakota Symphony board of directors, Chairman of the Trustees of the Washington Pavilion, Chairman of the Park and Recreation Board, Treasurer of the Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation, and board member of Downtown Sioux Falls Rotary. She holds a B.A. and M.A. from Northwestern University in Evanston, IL.

Molly McCarthy joined the Arts Council board in 2010, serving as Vice President. During her 2 years as President, she was privileged to serve on the Design Team for the Meldrum Park mural project and participate in the cultural planning process. She is Secretary of the LifeScape board of directors, transitioning from the Children’s Care Hospital and School board. Married to Ken Berger, she is the mother of two.